Cover of: Nathaniel Hawthorne : Collected Novels | Nathaniel Hawthorne Read Online

Nathaniel Hawthorne : Collected Novels Fanshawe, The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, The Marble Faun (Library of America) by Nathaniel Hawthorne

  • 937 Want to read
  • ·
  • 39 Currently reading

Published by Library of America .
Written in English


  • 19th Century American Novel And Short Story,
  • Literary Collections,
  • Literature - Classics / Criticism,
  • Literature: Classics,
  • Classics,
  • Fiction / Classics,
  • American - General

Book details:

The Physical Object
Number of Pages1272
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL8420614M
ISBN 100940450089
ISBN 109780940450080

Download Nathaniel Hawthorne : Collected Novels


Hawthorne anonymously published his first work, a novel titled Fanshawe, in In , he published Twice-Told Nathaniel Hawthorne was a 19th century American novelist and short story writer. He is seen as a key figure in the development of American literature for his tales of /5. Nathaniel Hawthorne: Collected Novels: Fanshawe, The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables, The Blithedale Romance, The Marble Faun (Library of America) by Hawthorne, Nathaniel and a great selection of related books, art and collectibles available now at The Hardcover of the Collected Novels and Short Stories by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Complete and Unabridged) Including the Scarlet Letter, the House of the Due to COVID, orders may be delayed. Thank you for your patience. About Nathaniel Hawthorne: Collected Novels (LOA #10) Here, in one Library of America volume, are all five of Hawthorne’s world-famous novels. Written in a richly suggestive style that seems remarkably contemporary, they are permeated by his own history as well as America’s.

The Complete Novels and Selected Tales of Nathaniel Hawthorne. Nathaniel Hawthorne $ - $ Nathaniel Hawthorne (), of Bowdoin's Class of , was the author of many classic novels and short stories. Early in his career, while writing The Wonder-Book and Mosses from the Old Manse, Hawthorne served as editor of the American magazine of useful and entertaining knowledge (), weigher at the Boston Custom House (), and surveyor of the port of Salem (). Nathaniel Hawthorne: Collected Novels (LOA #10): The Scarlet Letter / The House of Seven Gables / The Blithedale Romance / Fanshawe / The Marble Faun Hardcover – April 15 by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Author), Millicent Bell (Editor) out of 5 stars 22 ratings. See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Amazon Price /5(22). Nathaniel Hawthorne: Collected Novels is kept in print by a gift from Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman to the Guardians of American Letters Fund. add to cart List Price: $ (Save: 25%) Free shipping.

Returning to Concord, Hawthorne completed The Blithedale Romance (), a novel based on his Brook Farm experience. A campaign biography of his college friend Franklin Pierce earned Hawthorne the post of consul at Liverpool (–57) after Pierce became President.   Early years. Hawthorne’s ancestors had lived in Salem since the 17th century. His earliest American ancestor, William Hathorne (Nathaniel added the w to the name when he began to write), was a magistrate who had sentenced a Quaker woman to public whipping. He had acted as a staunch defender of Puritan orthodoxy, with its zealous advocacy of a “pure,” unaffected form of .   Nathaniel Hawthorne (born Nathaniel Hathorne; July 4, - ) was an American novelist and short story writer. The Scarlet Letter was published in , followed by a succession of other novels. Hawthorne was predominantly a short story writer in his early career/5(5). Melville had just read Hawthorne's short story collection Hawthorne and His Mosses." Melville's letters to Hawthorne provide insight into the composition of Moby-Dick, which Melville dedicated to Hawthorne, 'in appreciation for his genius.' Hawthorne's letters to Melville did not survive. Books by Nathaniel Hawthorne.